top of page



  • Writer's pictureChristian Malnawa

6 yKalingas qualify for DOST undergraduate scholarship grant

Tabuk City, Kalinga – Six out of the 201 students who took the qualifying exam for the Department of Science and Technology scholarship grant in the province will now start enjoying the perks of being a grantee of said government program as they took their oath Tuesday, July 18, 2023.

Qualifiers include Zeus Jebril Kubaron, Shangri-la Silip, Jericho Lee Wangiwang, Karylle April Dela Cruz, Darwin Dale Simangan, and Dejay Tavares.

DOST - Cordillera through the Provincial Science and Technology Office (PSTO)-Kalinga spearheaded their oath-taking ceremony during the DOST-Science Education Institute (SEI) Undergraduate Scholarship Orientation and Signing of Scholarship Agreement held at the PSTO-Kalinga Conference Hall, Bulanao, Tabuk City, Kalinga.

Of the 6 qualifiers, 2 are under RA 7687 scholarship program, which is intended for talented and deserving students who belong to economically-disadvantaged families, while 4 qualified for the Merit Scholarship Program, a grant for students with high aptitude in science and mathematics.

Said students will receive a monthly stipend of P7,000, a tuition fee subsidy of up to P40,000 per academic year, and P10,000 yearly learning materials and/or connectivity allowance.

Other privileges include P1,000 PE/MS allowance; one economy-class round trip fare per year for those studying outside the province; premium group health and accident insurance; P10,000 thesis allowance; and P1,000 graduation allowance.

Meantime, during the orientation, Ms. Grangery Agtulao guided the qualifiers on the details of the scholarship program and the agreement’s provisions. At the same time, Mr. Roston John Bonilla demonstrated how to use the scholar's portal.

The portal, according to DOST-Kalinga, will be utilized to access the necessary documents subject to completion by the qualifiers.

Following the orientation, the six scholars took oath before DOST-CAR Regional Director, Dr. Nancy A. Bantog, and the Provincial Science and Technology Director, Ms. Jasmin L. Donaal.


Follow Guru Press Cordillera  on Facebook for more News and Information
bottom of page