top of page



  • Writer's pictureMenchie Kinao

Ending insurgency is shared responsibility-Gov Tubban

Updated: May 22, 2021

Tabuk City, Kalinga- Kalinga Governor Ferdinand B. Tubban, in a message during the virtual session on May 20, encouraged everyone to actively participate in the massive campaign of the National Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (NTF-ELCAC) for a safer, resilient and more progressive country.

During the Levelling Sessions of NTF-ELCAC for Kalinga and Apayao, Tubban highlighted that pursuing peace by ending insurgencies is a shared responsibility.

“I call on everyone to actively participate in this undertaking in order to realize our shared goal of pursuing the peace process and end the long years of atrocities, killings, including terrorism and economic sabotage being committed by the Communist Terrorist Group, for a safer, adaptive, resilient and more progressive Philippines,” Tubban underscored.

He added that it always boils down to the collective effort and cooperation of everyone especially those in the barangay, for the campaign to succeed.

As an expression of support to the mission of NTF-ELCAC, the governor said that Kalinga province denounces the Communist Party of the Philippines-New People’s Army (CPP-NPA) and all Communist Front Organizations (CFO).

He highlighted that the municipalities, through resolutions passed, have declared the communist terrorists as persona non grata in the entire province.

“As a matter of fact, the recent neutralization of high ranking leaders of the communist group particularly in the municipality of Balbalan in March 2021 has crippled and significantly weakened their force in the area,” the governor cited.

The levelling session, he said, was conducted to enhance knowledge and deepen understanding on the fundamental framework that gives direction for an inclusive and sustainable peace in the country.

Spearheaded by the Department of Interior and Local Government - Cordillera Administrative Region (DILG-CAR), said session was attended by Department of Agriculture (DA) Secretary William D. Dar, DILG Regional Director Araceli A. San Jose Apayao Governor Eleanor C. Bulut-Begtang, DILG Provincial Directors Mayer Max G. Adong & Marvin A. Basquez, Officers and Members of the Philippine National Police (PNP) and Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), and Barangay Officials.


DBM releases P20M NTF-ELCAC grant for Babalag East, Rizal


Follow Guru Press Cordillera on Facebook for more News and Information

bottom of page