top of page



  • Writer's pictureMenchie Kinao

“It’s not about winning, it’s all about experience”- Pasil’s Miss Kalinga 2023 candidate

Pasil, Kalinga – Despite not winning the Miss Kalinga 2023 crown, the candidate of Pasil town is beyond grateful for the wisdom she gained from joining the provincial beauty tilt.

As Desiree Dalog Basiwal puts it: “It’s not about winning, it’s all about experience.”

The beauty queen, in an interview, expressed heartfelt gratitude to her family, friends and the local government unit of Pasil under the leadership of Municipal Mayor Alfredo “Chao-ig” Malannag Jr. for their utmost support since the beginning until she finished her campaign.

She gave special credit to her classmate, Carol Awing who endorsed her to Miss Kalinga 2023.

“No words can express how thankful I am. It's really an honor to represent our beloved municipality, PASIL and I really did my best to proudly represent our municipality… I do believe that God has a better plan for me and maybe it's not yet my time. Once again, thank you, thank you so much everyone, and may God bless us all,” said Basiwal.

Meanwhile, Mayor Malannag Jr. congratulated the beauty for representing their town with “pride and honor.”

“You were able to win the hearts of many with your bravery, confidence, and resiliency. It was after all a battle well-fought. You are a winner to us all,” he stated in his social media post.

For now, Basiwal will focus on her studies as a junior secondary education student at Kalinga Colleges of Science and Technology Inc. where she was crowned as Miss Bakasyunista 2022 and bagged People’s Choice Award, Best in Formal Attire, and Best in Background View.

Miss Kalinga 2023 Winners

Angelina Dupaya of Rizal town was named Miss Kalinga 2023 during the coronation night on February 14 at the Kalinga Sports Center. She likewise garnered Queen of the Ramp, Best in Creative Attire, Best in Long Gown, and Best in Native Attire.

Dori Loren Domingo from Tabuk City emerged as first runner-up, Anele Jane Annogui of PMA Tanglaw Diwa Class of 1992 is second runner-up, Kaye Paga from Tinglayan is the third runner-up, while Althea Butay of Partylandia Event Catering is fourth runner-up.


Follow Guru Press Cordillera  on Facebook for more News and Information