top of page



  • Writer's pictureMenchie Kinao

Apayao’s first cycling challenge a success

Apayao, Philipines – The first-ever cycling challenge of Apayao was a resounding success!

The province stepped up its strategy of promoting local attractions and activities through the sports tourism staged on Saturday, Oct. 07, 2023.

Dubbed as “Ride to Marag Valley: A Paradise Regained,” the inaugural event gathered cycling enthusiasts not only from the province but also those from Kalinga, La Union, Ilocos Sur, Ilocos Norte, Nueva Vizcaya, Isabela, Cagayan Valley, and Baguio City.

A total of 108 cyclists, according to Provincial Tourism Officer Rebecca Mamba, got to explore the 30-kilometer race with awe-inspiring views, thrilling terrains and an exhilarating ride from Sports Complex in San Gregorio, Luna to the Cagandungan Bridge in Marag Valley.

To add excitement to the fun race, over P100,000 cash prizes were provided to the top three winners of the event.


Jemuel Aggalao from Kalinga, Fred Rei Du from Sanchez Mira, and Allan Jay Tupasi from Ilocos Sur pocketed P7,000, P5,000, and P4,000 cash prizes, respectively, for winning the 19 years old and below category.

For the 20 to 29 age bracket category, champion Efraim Iñigo from Ilocos Sur got P8,000, while runners-up Jasen Galoso from Ilocos Sur and John Llyod Pascion from Ilocos Norte won P6,000 and P5,000 prize, respectively.

Carlos Gasmen from Ilocos Sur dominated the 30 to 38 age category with a cash incentive of P8,000. First runner-up Nash Dukiling from Ilocos Sur got P6,000 and Nathaniel Uvero from Isabela received P5,000.

The same amount of prizes were provided to Allan Tapuro from Ilocos Sur, Noel Fabros from Santiago City, and Rolando Burgos from Ilocos Sur for winning the 40 years old and above category.

Meanwhile, Janrey Dalo from Sta. Praxedes, Mike Castillo from Ilocos Norte, and Kenn Saclag received P10,000, P8,000 and P5,000, respectively as top winners in the open category.

In the women's category, Czeena Mharie Rapisora from Ilocos Norte was proclaimed the champion and claimed P8,000. Cabagbag Jacky from Ilocos Sur and Haban Melanie Ilocos Sur who settled as first and second runners-up got P6,000 and P5,000, respectively.

Governor Elias Bulut Jr. lauded the efforts of the Provincial Tourism Services Office for initiating and carrying out the event, in coordination with the Department of Tourism – Cordillera.

On its part, DOT – Cordillera congratulated the participants for showcasing their “skills and sportsmanship.”

“Together, let us keep the wheels spinning, the mountains calling, and the adventures rolling in the beautiful province of Apayao!” it stated in a press release.



Follow Guru Press Cordillera  on Facebook for more News and Information