top of page



  • Writer's pictureLeonora Lo-oy

IPs in Kalinga sought individual recognition by ethnolinguistic grouping

Updated: Jul 12, 2021

Tabuk City, Kalinga—The term “Kalinga” will no longer be used to address as a general term for the Indigenous People (IP) in the province, once the proposed ordinance recognizing the 46 ethnolinguistic groups of Kalinga by their ascribed names is approved.

This is to identify officially the individual IPs in the Philippine list of cultural communities.

In the draft ordinance introduced by Kalinga Indigenous People Mandatory Representative Michael Sugguiyao, he stated that the elders and leaders together with the community members, for a long time, have wanted to be individually identified as one IP in the Philippines, not just only as a subgroup.

“They have their specific ethnolinguistic name, diay iti kayat iti taga Kalinga [a maitawag kanyada] so that when you apply for a certificate of tribal membership, kanayun nga ipilit da a Kalinga iti ikabil and yet we have the 46 ancestral domains,” he explained during an interview.

With the ordinance, it will form the basis in addressing the tribes with their respective IP affiliation instead of the general term "Kalinga".

The ordinance was approved on its first reading during the 59th regular session of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan last June 22.

What are the 46 ethnolinguistic groups?

In a resolution crafted based on the community resolutions of the tribes, there were 46 groups unified by a common ethnicity and language and cultural heritage in Kalinga.

For Balbalan, there are seven; Banao, Buaya, Dao-angan, Gubang, Salegseg, Mabaca, and Poswoy/Ababaan.

As to Lubuagan, there are four; Lubuagan, Mabongtot, Tanglag, and Uma. For Pasil; Ableg/Dalupa, Balatoc, Balinciagao, Cagaluan, Dantalan, and Guina-ang. And for Pinukpuk; Aciga, Ammacian, Ballayangon, Dugpa, Limos, Magaogao, and Pinukpuk.

Further, for Tanudan; Dacalan, Gaang, Lubo, Mangali, Pangol, and Taloctoc. As for Tinglayan; Bangad, Basao, Butbut, Dananao, Sumadel, Tongrayan, and Tulgao.

Lastly, for Tabuk City; Biga, Culminga, Dallac, Gaddang, Guilayon, Malbong, Minanga, Nanong, and Tobog.


P6M Agri Extension Research and Farm Mechanization building soon to rise in Kalinga

Follow Guru Press Cordillera on Facebook for more News and Information

bottom of page